My happy place

Yesterday I was scrolling through Facebook with little interest when an Image popped up that made my ovaries start singing. It was an image of a mother relaxing in her bath with her two boys lying on each side of her feeding. YES, there was two of them and YES they were breastfeeding and it was AMAZING. I’ve seen loads of beautiful pictures of mothers feeding their babies but for some reason this one really affected me. The two boys were not twins and they were both under the age of four. The older brother had an affectionate hand on the younger brothers back who feeding beside him whilst their mother had her protective arms holding them. It just summed up what my job is as a mother which is to care and protect my children. The best way I can do that is by relying on my body and what nature has provided for me which is breastfeeding.

This mother inspired me to take a picture of a moment when I am caring and protecting my son so I can cherish that moment for life. So last night as I was about to jump into the shower with my son I decided to give him a little cuddle and a feed and something about that moment just felt perfect so I said to my son’s dad to grab his phone quick and take a picture before the moment passes and my 11 month old becomes a ball of madness and excitement again. The picture he took will forever stay in my heart and memory. He captured more than just an image, when I look at this photo I feel like I can breathe in the smell of my son and his warmth and I’m back in that moment of calm milky cuddles with my sweet boy.

I’ve felt like I’ve been stuck in a rut lately like all the days have been rolling into one and I couldn’t shake off the feeling of boredom. I felt like I’d lost interest in the reasons which led me to wanting to create this blog. I was questioning if I was ever interested in any thing to do with motherhood or was it just a new mother excitement that has now passed. Well all that changed when I saw the picture of me nourishing my child. Even though I advocate breastfeeding and I’m so interested in what breastfeeding really is, I never have actually appreciated what I am doing for my child, what my body is doing and what my child is doing for me. This image just completely changed my perspective and rejuvenated my love for this journey I’m on through motherhood. I can’t stop looking at this picture, it makes me so proud and gives me so much confidence in myself and my body. I also have zero body shame when looking at the raw natural nakedness of my body, this is my post-partum body and I love it and I’m so grateful for how well my body did to create such a wonderful child and nourish him every day. I challenge all mothers breastfeeding or not, to capture a moment like this in your natural naked state caring and protecting your child and then have a look at what you being a mother looks like. There is nowhere in the world I’d rather be than sitting holding and rocking my child skin to skin giving him the best gift I can.

This is my Happy place.
Untitled

 

Leave a comment